Welcome!

Hi there! I’m so glad you stopped by!

Forest Gump waveI’m a writer working on various fiction projects at the moment and have reached a point where I have to establish a little thing called “my platform”. It’s simple really, I just put my words and thoughts out there into the universe to forever be used against me. They say there’s no pressure, that it just allows people to look me up, see what type of opinions I have, and how I present my ideas into the world.

Right. No pressure.

gasping pink dog

People just want to look into my soul. That’s all. Well, lucky for them, us writer-types have exactly that hankering, the ability to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and birth something into the world that matters. Well, if that’s the case, then so be it. I want what I write to matter. I want it to mean something. Yes, if I am somehow able to change the world, that would be a dream come true. But I live in a more attainable world. Since I doubt I will write the next Holy Bible and don’t expect my work to be turned into the next Blood Diamond or inspire the next Erin Brockovich (yes, I know she’s an incredible human, but somebody had to write that screenplay, didn’t they?), I choose instead to write things that mean something to me, and hopefully, to you.

Because each of my fiction projects challenges various aspects of the world, I will use this blog as a much more literal weapon. If I can connect with just one person, then I have achieved my mission. What, you wonder, will I be tackling?

The world.

The truth is, we need more diversity in the world, and not just because it’s trending now. We need depth and culture, history and hope for a brighter future to fuse into one human experience we all share. We need equality for all people, including the LGBT community, because after all, they’re people too. The only difference is, I’ve never met a single LGBT community member who harbors a bias against people for being straight.

I want to challenge the narcissists in the world who think their way is the right way. I want to pull the wool from the eyes of victims who don’t currently believe in a better tomorrow, and I want to lend a helping hand to those who need it, those who want it, those who shouldn’t have to ask for it. I hope you join me on the ride, and please, please share your opinions freely.

After all, this is America, where despite what the media tells you, you are entitled to your opinion, just as I am to mine. So argue your side, fight with passion for your beliefs, but please, keep it civil. Shouting and blustering and clamoring for the last words serves no purpose and doesn’t affect change. Keep it civil. I want to hear your side, more than you can know, because I am a firm believer that nobody can support anything or be a proponent for change, without first seeing the other side.

So join me please, as we discuss the world before us in the most powerful way we can, the power born of one thing… a simple pen in someone’s hand.

pen in hand~Jennifer L. Meacham

Leave a Reply

